Tis the season…

***I just  found this and am publishing it, over a month late!****

How does the saying go? Tis the season to be jolly, Fa ra ra ra ra, ra ra ra ra.. (Yes, I know it’s wrong, but I love the Christmas Story far too much to think of it any other way!)

Anyway…I am really feeling the nudging this year to live simply, especially this Christmas season…and I see the same thought everywhere I go, every blog, every magazine article…EVERYwhere. Is God trying to tell just me something or is this a trend? I would love for it to be a trend..doesn’t that always make transitions easier..if everyone else is doing it? What a crazy thought, that to be obedient and peaceful with my choices, that it could be “easier” because everyone else is doing it! I truly don’t want to BE like everyone else, but I also don’t want to be, well, a freak, you know? I want my children to be loved and accepted for who they are, but I also want them to be set apart from this crazy world and it’s backwards virtues. How do you do that? There are so many beautiful examples of families that actually accomplish this at our church. One, in particular, is my absolute FAVORITE family to sit behind at church on Sundays. I love to watch them as they sing the praise songs and as their teenaged children worship God freely and without looking over their shoulder to see who is watching…..

Leave a Reply

